Beginners

I’m calling this the best indie picture of 2011.

I must confess:

I did not go to see it in theatres

for fear that it would be

too twee.

Boy was I

wrong.

I recently watched the film

during a trans-Atlantic flight

on both legs of the journey.

On the way home I found myself

scribbling lines of dialogue in my notebook.

It’s not about what the dog says;

it’s about what the characters don’t say.

In its best moments, the film reminds me of a

Mary Robison short story from her collection,

An Amateur’s Guide To The Night.

Check out this old interview with Robison here

in BOMB Magazine.

It mirrors some of the themes in

recent interview with Beginners director, Mike Mills,

on the autobiographical art of filmmaking

here.

“Everybody’s version of these events would be different.” – Mills

Leave a Reply

